Halls of Residence

There are nine Halls of Residence on the Mona Campus: two single sex, Mary Seacole and Chancellor Hall, housing females and males respectively and seven co-ed halls namely A.Z Preston, Irvine, Taylor, Rex Nettleford, ABC, Towers and Marlene Hamilton Hall. Approximately 1440 student are accommodated each year. Each hall of residence is administered by a Student Services Manager who is assisted by Resident Advisors, a Hall Operations Supervisor and Service Staff.

The resident hall community is a vital part of students' learning experience and promotes and supports the mission of the University. The Halls provide students with a wide range of activities and programmes designed to provide a rounded university education. Healthy competitions in sports, drama, debate and other related activities bring out the natural endowment of our students.

Students' Hall government provides the opportunity for practical leadership development and creates the opportunity for a structured communal life. Hall Committee members are elected by member of the respective Hall and any student attached to a given Hall is eligible to run for any office on that hall committee.